705-733-3227 info@catulpa.on.ca

In a year unlike any other, Catulpa Community Support Services continues to celebrate excellence among employees and community. Read about how the Agency has successfully responded to the challenges of the past year in our 2019-2020 Annual General Report

Normally held in September each year, the Agency’s Annual General Meeting community celebration dinner and awards banquet was deferred this year due to COVID-19. The Board of Directors met virtually for the business portion of the Annual General Meeting and during the meeting, award winners for 2019-2020 were selected from staff and community members. These were announced to Catulpa staff members during a virtual meeting with staff members.

Our 2019-2020 Award Winners are:

Maikke Poste Memorial Bursary Award

The Maikke Poste Memorial Bursary Award highlights not only the priority that our agency places on education, but also the commitment many of our staff members demonstrate to continuing education. We are pleased to announce there are two winners of the Maikke Poste Memorial Bursary Award this year. They are:

Barb McIImoyle
Barb is a life long learner. She is fueled by knowledge and this is represented in her daily work. Managing a case load of highly complex individuals, she continually seeks to expand her skills to better address their needs

Vanessa Porter
Vanessa is entering the 3rd year of a post-graduate certificate in the York Accounting Program. There is strong evidence of her learning in her day-to-day work, and she frequently supports other staff when enhanced skills are required.


Board of Directors Award

Each year, staff are invited to nominate an outstanding peer for this award. It is given to an employee of Catulpa Community Support Services who has provided exemplary service for the agency in the work we do.

This year, our Board of Directors Award winner is Lauren Jeffrey.

Lauren is a Site Coordinator with the Community Action Program for Children in the Collinwood area and is a strong ambassador for CAPC and Catulpa. She is very committed to community development activities in the area and was instrumental in the development of the caja box gardening program that began in Collingwood. Due to her efforts and the program’s success, it has now been rolled out across Simcoe County and with other partners.


Community Partnership Award

The Community Partnership Award is usually given to a person within the community who works together with our organization to provide outstanding services and opportunities within the larger community. This year, in the midst of the pandemic, we expanded our nomination criteria slightly and focused more on our appreciation of larger efforts made within our entire community.

This year, we are recognizing the efforts of the Private Residential Operators of Outside Paid Resources with whom we work.

Certificates of Appreciation will be sent to the twenty-six Outside Paid Resources (OPR’s) who were nominated for their response to the pandemic. These certificates are in recognition that OPR’s became Front Line Heroes for residents as the pandemic grew. Their responsiveness and commitment to keeping everyone safe and informed during the pandemic was beyond impressive. The true essence of supporting individuals through the rough times.


Margaret Gallow Spirit Award

Our final award is the Margaret Gallow Spirit Award. Margaret was a former Executive Director of the agency and believed everyone should live the agency’s values as their own. This award honours those who carry on the legacy of our Margaret’s vision and goes to individuals nominated due to their outstanding commitment and sense of spirit.

This year’s winner of the Margaret Gallow Spirit Award is Swellyn Crisostomo.

As a Passport Program Assistant, Swellyn demonstrates a strong commitment to persons served. She values the uniqueness of each person. Her positive attitude and dedication to her work is recognizable in her knowledge and attitude. Swellyn exudes positivity and always has a smile for all those who cross her path. She embodies Margaret’s spirit and legacy.

Congratulations to all this year’s award winners!

Share This