It’s an Annual General Meeting (AGM) with a difference. Each year, Catulpa Community Support Services takes a few hours away from its day-to-day business to reflect on the past year and celebrate the achievements of those involved with the agency.

Our recent AGM celebrated the impact of advocacy. Not only advocacy from the agency outwards, but advocacy from our community inwards.  Advocacy often results in changes, at both personal and community levels. During the evening, people and families were recognized for their successes and accomplishments. Many of the accomplishments are based on self-advocacy efforts.

You can read our Catulpa Community Support Services’ 2017-18 Annual General Report Here

Special Guests

Special guest speaker Kevin York is a wonderful example of how one person’s advocacy can make a difference in their world. Kevin was awarded a Midland Award of Merit earlier this year for his many years of volunteering and his ongoing efforts to raise funds for several charities. He doesn’t let his Down syndrome get in his way, whether at work, at the golf course, or while volunteering at Community Living Huronia. Musical entertainment was provided by Barry D. during the evening, much to the enjoyment of everyone there. Barry was also the lucky winner of a piece of artwork donated by Brent, profiled in the Catulpa 2017-18 Annual General Report.

Margaret Gallow Community Spirit Awards

Each year Catulpa Community Support Services is honoured to present two Margaret Gallow Spirit Awards, one to a community supporter, and the other to a deserving employee.  Margaret was the agency’s former Executive Director and embraced the organizational values and beliefs as her own, encouraging all those she touched to live by them too. The award honours those who carry on the legacy of Margaret Gallow’s vision. Stephen Chester-Bertelsen is the Margaret Gallow Community Spirit Award winner for 2017-18. Stephen is a Special Education Consultant for the Simcoe County School Board and has worked tirelessly for many years on behalf of not only the students, but also their families. Stephen is forever championing the strengths of his students and their families. His respectful manner and appreciation of the challenges families face is shown at all times and he is a strong advocate to ensure they have access to all the resources they require.

Jenny Meakin is the winner of this year’s Margaret Gallow Spirit Award for employees. Jenny is recognized as a powerful advocate for her clients and one who always takes time to find the best services and resources for those persons that she serves. She values each person and family for their strengths and abilities.

Community Partnership Award 2017-18

Healthy Kids Community Challenge in Collingwood is the Community Partnership Award winner of 2017-18. As a result of the Healthy Kids Community Challenge partnership with Catulpa’s CAPC/CPNP programs, participants have been able to reap the benefits of healthy eating, healthy movement, and healthy initiatives. Project manager Jennifer Parker is a strong advocate and partner for the health and well-being of all families and children, as well as an ambassador for our CAPC and CPNP programs.

The evening is also a chance to acknowledge our own staff efforts to improve the lives of the people and families supported through the agency. From coordinating services to providing respite options to enable resilience within families, Catulpa employees are widely recognized as caring and involved with those in our programs and services.

Board of Director Award 2017-18

The Board of Directors’ Award is Kim Latour, Manager of Quality Assurance, recognized for her enthusiastic commitment to ongoing collaboration and quality within the organization during the agency’s ongoing efforts to expand knowledge, build on best practice and engage our community.

Maikke Post Memorial Bursary Award 2017-18

The Maikke Post Memorial Bursary Award highlights not only the priority that Catulpa places on education, but also the commitment employees demonstrate to continuing education. The bursary awards are given each year in memory of Maikke Post, a former employee of Catulpa Community Support Services who tragically died due to an auto accident. The 2017-18 Maikke Post Memorial Bursary awards were presented to Lesley Watts, Vanessa Campbell and Natasha Rykaszewski.

The 2017-18 Annual General Meeting was a wonderful evening of fun and celebration and we are already looking forward to next year!

Share This